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Do you feel a psychic connection? May 2006  

  

Dear Michael,  

This month we will take a look at the dark side of the force - enter 
the psych. Regardless of our feelings about these nasty critters, 
they've been around a long time and with charismatic pranksters like 
Zia to perpetrate some rather "creative bidding", it's clear the psych 
is alive (if not always well) even at the top levels of Bridge play.  

While fit showing jumps come in many flavors, the vanilla flavored 
"FSJ" after a passed hand is popular with many advanced partner. If 
you haven't tried it yet, perhaps now is a good time to give it a taste 
test.  

You're in the passout seat in an uncontested auction where the 
opponents have bid game or slam, perhaps with an alert or another 
systemic call. Is it within your right to inquire about a specific bid 
before making the final pass? Let's argue the merits of Law 20F 
versus Law 16A and see who wins. . .  

If you have problems reading this document, please view our online 
web-based copy or Adobe Acrobat PDF file suitable for printing.  

If a friend forwarded you this BridgeHands newsletter, you can 
signup here for your own free subscription. 
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How would you gauge your psychic status?  

This month we will throw caution into the wind, marching where 
angels fear to tread. Enter the psychic bid. Many players have 
bitter-sweet experiences with psyches, be it by an unscrupulous 
opponent, cunning partner, or self-inflicted from within. But before 
discussing the details, let’s define the psych bid itself. Most would 
agree a psych is a bid that is a gross misstatement of a player’s 
honor strength or suit length. The Official Encyclopedia of Bridge 
goes on, saying, “A bid that bears little resemblance to a logical 
choice for the hand in either a natural sense or as a conventional or 
systemic partnership agreement.”  

Interestingly, when it comes to a player’s strength and suit length, 
beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Back in February 1978, the 
ACBL Bulletin published the famous “Don Oakie” opinion of what 
constitutes an excessive deviation to Law 40, Partnership 
Understandings. In essence, Don defined a normal deviation as, “A 
bid in which the strength of the hand is within a queen of the 
agreed or announced strength, and the bid is of a suit of ample 
length or of notrump; the length of a suit varies by no more than 
one card from the agreed or announced length.” (See the ACBL 
Duplicate Decisions, Law 40” for details). While Don’s guideline was 
helpful for players and Bridge Directors, over the years many 
creative bidders have pushed the envelope with some success on 
Don’s restrictive ruling. For instance, most seasoned players would 
relate to significant player “deviations” on what constitutes the 
proper strength for a strong 2 Club opener.  

Consider these hands (the first featured on our graphic heading): 

   A K Q J 10 9 7 6 5   7 5 4   2   -- 
 
   A K Q 10 9 8   J 10 9 8 7 6   4   -- 
 
According to the ACBL, opening 2 Clubs with either of these hands 
is acceptable if, “in the view of the bidder, there is a reasonable 
chance for game in hand with little or no help from partner.” Hmm, 
so indeed the classic cliché has an element of truth, “beauty is in 
the eye of the beholder!”  

At any rate, for the purposes of our discussion, let’s simplify the 
issue by agreeing that a player has psyched when their strength 
falls under 50 percent of partnership strength agreements, or the 
suit length is several cards less than expected.  

Next, let’s explore the motivation of the psych. Certainly the most 
common reason folks psych is to obstruct the opponents from 
finding their best contract. Some psyches are used as defensive 
countermeasures, such as pre-escapes, dump Ogust, and the like 

 

http://bridgehands.com/Laws/ACBL/Duplicate/Tech_Files/Tech_File_Psyches.htm


(see below). Or perhaps a player might stretch a bid for its merit 
on lead direction. The classic example is the overcall; over the 
years, the strength (and length) for the overcall seem to get lighter 
and lighter. Today many players would happily overcall 1 Spade 
holding A Q J 3 2 with little else, especially considering favorable 
vulnerability. In fact, those who do not see anything special about 
overcalling based on no more than these values in total, might then 
contemplate overcalling with nothing more than A Q 3 2.  

True, these days players expect overcalls could be light – duplicate 
players make this clear on the back of their convention card. But 
what about opening 1 Diamond holding only K Q J 3 2 in honor 
strength with favorable vulnerability? Definitely a psych! Now then, 
again with favorable vulnerability, what might you open the same 
hand in third seat? Those who like “action” might go anywhere from 
1 to 3 Diamonds, with some creative bidders testing the water with 
a 1 Notrump call (hopefully with a sixth Diamond). Let’s rate these 
bids:  

1D = clearly a psych, albeit nice lead direction 
2D = definitely fits within Don Oakie’s normal deviation 
3D = at best a semi-psych (deceptive tactical bid), even with an 
outside Queen or four card side suit and using the “Rule of 2-3-4”  

In their book, “The Art of Psychic Bidding,” Julian Pottage and Peter 
Burrows identified two general categories of psychic bids:  

Blunderbuss – as we witnessed with the 3 Diamond bid above, 
the Blunderbuss blasts a high-level bid, typically preemptive with 
the intent to consume bidding space. As its name suggest, the 
blunderbuss fires lethal projectiles over a wide path, at best 
reaching the opponent but perhaps inflicting mortal damage to 
friendly forces.  

Rapier – typically a low-level bid intended to deliberately mislead 
opponents regarding the bidder’s suit shape. Recall the psych 
bidder who opens 1 Notrump in third seat holding something like: 

      3 2   3 2   K Q J 4 3 2   4 3 2 
 
If the bidder’s intention was to ultimately flee to Diamonds when 
doubled, the tactic would be considered a rapier – thrust and 
retreat. An initial bid of 1S with the above holding would be a more 
classic form of the rapier. Note: if the rapier was not already 
dangerous enough, doing so with extreme shortness can be 
especially disastrous since partner is more likely to have length in 
the suit and make a monstrous jump in the short suit! Some of 
those who say psyches are akin to the boomerang (likely to come 
back and whack the perpetrator), are probably in this category. 
Assuming a partnership does not have the Gambling 3 Notrump bid 

http://www.bridgehands.com/R/Rule_of_2_3_4.htm
http://www.bridgehands.com/Reviews/Bridge_Books/Art_of_Psychic_Bidding_The.htm
http://bridgehands.com/G/Gambling_3_Notrump.htm


in their conventional arsenal, a player might also try the rapier 1S 
third seat opening bid holding: 
 
   3 2   4 3 2   2   A K Q J 4 3 2 
 
If necessary, the rapier bidder hopes to stall the opponents’ 
bidding. If the auction gets lively, the rapier will repeatedly rebid 
Clubs, hoping partner will eventually figure out the psych based on 
the opponents’ bidding. This illustrates the psycher’s dilemma, 
requiring one’s partner to believe the opponents instead of the 
supposed trustworthy partner. Perhaps this is the origin of the 
tongue-in-cheek term “Center Hand Opponent!”  

Yet the psych aficionado will go so far as to provide gradations of 
the notorious psych.  

Baby Psych – This category is less obnoxious, yet still creating an 
element of confusion. Perhaps partner opens 1H, with right hand 
opponent doubling and you bid 1S holding: 

   2   5 4 3 2   5 4 3 2   5 4 3 2 
 
Most of us are familiar with the (Garbage Stayman). After opener's 
1 Notrump, responder makes a supposed Stayman call with a bust 
hand and short Club suit. This practice is well accepted and not 
perceived as a Baby Psych. Certainly responder's true motive was 
clear after responder passes opener's 2D, 2H, or 2S rebid. Yet on 
the next two scenarios, we will see responder's charade may have 
a more nefarious intent. . .  

Imagine you and partner are playing "mini-Notrump", opening on 
10-12 HCP. As responder, you hold a near-bust hand and are 
obviously concerned the advancer will double, setting your side for 
a big number. Many mini-Notrump responders feign invitational 
values, again bidding 2C Stayman. This facade is known as a "Pre-
escape", attempting to confuse the advancer to avoid a penalty 
double.  

The "dump Ogust" follows a similar theme. After a preemptive 
weak two bid, bust responder queries 2 Notrump, providing 
opponents the illusion responder has game interest. Of course, 
regardless of opener's rebid, the responder always retreats back to 
trump. A word to the wise - this parlor trick works best when 
opener's suit is Spades, allowing responder to elegantly signoff in 3 
Spades. Don't try this when partner opens 2D unless you are 
prepared to rebid 4D after partner's rebid in 3 of a major suit.  
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Mini Psych – As we discussed above, our third hand opener with a 
short 2-3 card suit falls in the category of a mini psych, as does the 
3 level third seat opener holding a 5 card minor (especially bidding 
3 Clubs). Another classic mini psych eluded to earlier was the 1D 
opener holding: 

   Q 3 2   3 2   K Q J 3 2  4 3 2 
 
Another favorite rapier mini psych is the 1 Notrump response 
holding a bust hand with a great fit in partner's suit. The mini 
psycer plans belated support of partner's suit when opponents 
jump into the auction. To illustrate this tactic, let's say partner 
opened 1H, where responder bids 1N holding:  
 
   3 2   J 5 4 3 2   4 3 2   4 3 2 
 
Maxi Psych – While the maxi has enough strength to justify a bid, 
the shape constitutes a distortion of the call. Perhaps you have an 
18 count and envision a jump rebid of 2 Notrump holding: 
 
   K Q 2   A Q 2   4 3 2   A Q J 10 
 
A normal opening bid would be 1C, rebidding 2N. Yet an opening 
bid of 1D might inhibit the left hand opponent from leading 
Diamonds when the partnership winds up in a 3 Notrump contract. 
However, be careful doing this with a doubleton, as the auction 
could result in a passout around the table (a suicide psych?)  

Incidentally, “walking the dog” technically does not constitute a 
psych but is merely a bidding strategy. Perhaps you overcall 1S 
with an 8 card major that’s a two-suiter with a 4 Losing Trick Count 
hand; you intend to slowly bid up to 4S, hoping to draw a double 
and make game when the bidding reaches a level perceived 
unmakeable by the opponents. Walking the dog falls in the realm of 
everyday bidding.  

Making a third seat preemptive 2 or 3 level bid when holding full 
opening values and a 5 card suit might be either a strategic bid or a 
maxi psych, depending on your point of view. Perhaps you are 
concerned the opponents will find a Spade fit, so you choose to 
open 2H holding something like: 

   2   A K Q 3 2   K 4 3 2   4 3 2 
 
Okay, now that we’ve covered enough to get us all into trouble, 
that’s enough on psyches for now. Next month we will take a look 
at some psych hands found in the wild.   
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Fit Showing Jump by Passed Hand, or “Let me show 
you mine, too”  

Passed hand bidding is in a world of its own, or as the Romans said 
it best: Caveat emptor! (let the buyer beware) Still, there is a place 
for every hand, with a corresponding bid to match. Fit showing 
jumps and their half-brother, mixed raises, take many forms – a 
comprehensive topic best saved for another series. For now, we will 
take on the fit showing jump by a passed hand. Marty Bergen’s 
book “Marty Sez” includes an entire chapter on passed hand 
bidding. Marty has generously granted BridgeHands permission to 
excerpt his write-up on fit showing jumps by a passed hand.  

A jump shift by a passed hand promises support for 
partner’s suit.  

This (alertable) bid shows a good passed hand with at least nine 
cards in the two suits. It is most often used after a minor-suit 
opening, is not forcing, and works well in competitive auctions.  

Some players use the jump to show 10-11 HCP with no fit – they 
are proudly announcing that they almost opening the bidding. Big 
deal. All they have done is crown the auction. It is definitely better 
to define the passed-hand jump shift as promising a fit. If you do 
not have a fit, do not jump. 

      West   North   East  South 
        -      -      -     P 
        P      1C     P     ? 
 
   8   7 3   A K J 8 4   J 8 5 4 2         Bid 2D 
 
   9 6   K J 6 5 4   7 2   A Q 9 6         Bid 2H 
 
   A J 9 4 2   8   8 3   K 9 5 4 2         Bid 2S 
 
By the way: After responder’s jump, opener’s retreat to his first 
suit is a signoff. His bid of a new suit is forcing for one round. 
 
           Copyright 2001, Marty Bergen 
 
BridgeHands encourages you to purchase any of Marty’s fine 
books. For summaries from “Marty Sez” and the entire chapter one, 
we invite you to see BridgeHands website and our index of Marty's 
books. Please mention Coupon #BHB1 when you order one of 
Marty's hardbound books below and receive two free softbound 
books. Call Marty at 800-386-7432 or EMAIL him at 
mbergen@mindspring.com  
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Law 20F – Yours is not to (always) question why  

Here’s the beat – the bidding goes:  

(1D) – (1S); 
(1N) – (2C);   2C alerted 
(2S) – (3S); 
(4S) – P - (P) - ? 
 
Here’s a common belief: “At anytime throughout the auction during 
a player's turn to call, the player may ask an opponent the meaning 
of a bid.”  

Question: So in the passout seat, is it proper for a player to ask the 
meaning of a specific call?  

On the one hand, Law 20F states:  

“During the auction and before the final pass, any player, at his 
own turn to call, may request a full explanation of the opponents’ 
auction (questions may be asked about calls actually made or about 
relevant calls available but not made); replies should normally be 
given by the partner of a player who made a call in question.  

After the final pass and throughout the play period, either defender 
at his own turn to play may request an explanation of opposing 
auction. At his or dummy’s turn to play, the declarer may request 
an explanation of a defender’s call or card play convention.”  

Yet on the other hand, Law 16A counters: “After a player makes 
available to his partner extraneous information that may suggest a 
call or play, as by means of a remark, a question, a reply to a 
question, . . . the partner may not choose from among logical 
alternative actions one that could demonstrably have been 
suggested over another by the extraneous information.”  

So what gives? Is it okay to ask the meaning of an opponents’ bid 
before passing and partner makes a face down opening lead?  

The bottom line is that while L20F is true, asking the meaning of a 
specific opponent call is a no-no. At a minimum, a player should 
ask for an explanation of the entire auction rather than focus on 
one of many bids in a live auction. Better yet, players should follow 
the guidance offered by Mike Flader, ACBL Associate National 
Tournament Director: “It is a good practice to not ask a question 
about an opponents' bid unless you are considering taking some 
action at your turn to bid. If you have nothing to say, any questions 
you may have can wait until the end of the auction.” Good point, 
Mike! So in our above bidding scenario, unless the player in the 
passout seat reasonably anticipates making a call, the seemingly 
harmless query could be a breach of Law 16A. So be careful posing 

 



indiscriminate questions which might suggest your partner make a 
certain lead, plan a specific defense, or infer making a call in a live 
auction.  

For more information, see page 7 of the Sunday, April 9, 2006 
Dallas NABC Daily Bulletin.  

  

BridgeHands Archive  

If you missed a back issue of a BridgeHands Intermediate-
Advanced eMag newletters, here are the links:  

Issue 0 - Finesses 
Issue 1 - Forcing Pass 
Issue 2 - Leads on Notrump Doubled contracts 
Issue 3 - Opener Reverses 
Issue 4 - Reverses, Part II - Responder Rebids 

 

  

We hope you are enjoying the BridgeHands website and eMag 
Newsletters. We always enjoy hearing from you regarding your 
comments or suggestions. 

Sincerely, 

BridgeHands  
 

email: support@bridgehands.com  
phone: 707-769-4499  
web: http://www.bridgehands.com  
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