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BD# 15 Martin Dickau 
VUL N/S ♠ K Q T 5 
DLR South ♥ A K J 4 3 

♦ 7 3  

 

♣ K 5 
Gary Macgregor Heather Cutting 

♠ 6 4 3 2 ♠ A 9 8 7 
♥ T 8 5 ♥ 7 
♦ K 8 6 4 2 ♦ Q J T 
♣ 4 

 
 

Summer 2009 
Washington D.C. 

♣ J 9 8 7 6 
Ellen Dickau 

♠ J 
♥ Q 9 6 2 
♦ A 9 5 
♣ A Q T 3 2 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 6♥ by North 

   1♣1 Opening Lead ♦Q 
Pass 1♥ Pass 2♥ Table Result Made 6, N/S +1430  
Pass 2♠ Pass 3♥2 Director Ruling 4♥ N made 6, N/S +680 
Pass 4♠3 Pass 5♥ Committee Ruling 6♥ N made 6 N/S +1430 
Pass 6♥ Pass Pass 
Pass    

 

 

 
(1) Shows 4+ clubs. 
(2) Alleged BIT. 
(3) Keycard Blackwood. 
 
The Facts: The director was called after the hand was played. West thought the BIT was 
noticeable. South said she was deciding what to do. North did not notice a BIT. 
 
The Ruling: The director determined that there was a BIT that demonstrably suggested 
pushing to slam. 4♥ was considered to be a logical alternative to 4♠. In accordance with 
Laws 16B1 and 12C1(e), the result was adjusted to 4♥ by North making six, N/S plus 680 
for both sides. 



 
The Appeal: N/S appealed the director’s decision. East was the only player that did not 
attend the hearing. 
N/S said the BIT was not significant – about five seconds. North said she bid 2♠ because 
N/S often raise hearts with three card support. This bid was likely to allow North to learn 
whether South had four hearts. 
West said there was a noticeable BIT but not abnormally long. West thought that if North 
intended to bid aggressively he did not have to bid 2♠ first and could have bid 4♠ directly 
over 2♥. 
 
The Decision: The committee believed there was no unmistakable BIT and accordingly 
no irregularity. Therefore, the table result of 6♥ by North making six, N/S plus 1430 was 
restored for both sides. 
The committee decided that based on the N/S system, North had a good reason to bid 2♠ 
at matchpoints rather than ask for controls immediately. The committee believed that a 5-
second pause over a game try was appropriate and that bidding faster might in fact 
convey UI. 
 
The Committee: Richard Popper (Chair), Jeff Aker, Ellen Kent, Lou Reich and Aaron 
Silverstein. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith There was a BIT.  Look at South's hand.  She had an acceptance of the 2♠ 

game try.  Can she possibly have more than that? Then look at North's 
hand.  Leaping into Blackwood with two small diamonds and a 16-count 
is ridiculous.  The director got it right. 
Furthermore, I'd award an appeal without merit warning (AWMW) and a 
procedural penalty. 

 
Polisner My approximation of an appropriate amount of time to act in such 

auctions is 3.5 to 4.5 seconds and an extra 0.5 second is not enough to be 
considered an unmistakable hesitation.  Good work by the committee. 

  
Rigal I’m just about convinced of the committee decision. I’d hope to take five 

seconds over such a decision so would regard that as not being a BIT – but 
committees are clearly sending mixed signals about what does or does not 
constitute a BIT. That said, does a slow 3♥ represent demonstrably a near-
4♥ bid? Could it be instead a hand with 1-3-4-5 shape and a minimum not 
prepared to bid 3♦(A/Q10x/xxxx/AQ10xx). Or a hand considering 2NT? 
(Jx/Qxx/KJx/AQxxx). Who knows? This should have been mentioned, I 
think, in the decision. 



 
Smith I'm not convinced by the committee.  Five seconds over a game try seems 

to me to be potentially significant depending on South's tempo for other 
bids.  How long did it take her to bid 2♥, I wonder?  Why did the 
committee just accept on faith that this sequence was designed to discover 
whether South had a three card or four card raise?  Shouldn't that be on the 
convention card, or in system notes, or even Alerted?  What is South 
supposed to bid if she doesn't hold four hearts?  And if the agreement is as 
stated, what was South thinking about for five seconds?  Is that North 
hand right for a blast to slam via Blackwood knowing only that partner has 
four trumps and a minimum?  What about two possible diamond losers?  
So while I am not saying all isn't as the committee perceived, I am saying 
that I think the committee did not do all the spadework necessary to satisfy 
me that it came to the correct conclusion.  And just so it doesn't seem that 
I am critical of the committee while being soft on the directors, where was 
the player poll before deciding that bidding 4♥ was a logical alternative? 

 
Wildavsky I like the committee decision.  
 
Wolff  Good ruling. 
 


