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BD# 8 Rebecca Rogers 
VUL None ♠ J 8 2 
DLR West ♥ Q 5 4 3 

♦ Q J  

 

♣ 9 6 3 2 
Alan Siebert Alan Stout 

♠ K Q 9 7 ♠ A T 5 4 3 
♥ A 8 7 2 ♥ K J 9 
♦ A 8 4 ♦ 9 7 
♣ T 8 

 
 

Spring 2007 
St. Louis, Missouri 

♣ A J 7 
Dixie Hsu 

♠ 6 
♥ T 6 
♦ K T 6 5 3 2 
♣ K Q 5 4 

 
West North East  South Final Contract 4♠ by West 
1NT1 Pass 2♥2 2NT Opening Lead ♦Q 

3♠ Dbl3 Pass 4♦ Table Result 4♠ making 5, E/W +450 
Pass Pass 4♠ Pass Director Ruling 3♠ dbld, made 5, E/W +730
Pass Pass   

 

Committee Ruling 3♠ dbld, made 5, E/W +730
 
(1) Announced as 10-13 HCP 
(2) Transfer announced 
(3) All agreed to long break in tempo 
 
The Facts:  The director was called at the end of the hand.  All the players agreed to the 
auction and hesitation. North stated that their partnership agreement is that 2NT shows 
strength (cards) and 2♠ would be a cue bid.  In addition, North stated that an immediate 
double of a weak notrump shows 14+ HCP (any distribution).  South stated that 2NT was 
intended to show the minor suits. 
 
The Ruling:  The director judged that pass was a logical alternative to bidding 4♦ with 
the South hand.  Two players were polled and they both passed the double in the auction 
given.  The result was adjusted to 3♠, doubled, making five, E/W +730. 
 
 
 



The Appeal:  North stated that since their partnership agreement was that 2NT by South 
in this sequence showed strength, and 3NT by the North hand would be to play, that 
double would be pass or pull since her partner knew she didn’t have 14+ HCP.  South 
stated that she was aware of North’s hesitation, but that her 4 diamond bid was automatic. 
 
East pointed out that North could have one more spade and an Ace and King more than 
she had and still have less than 14 HCP. 
 
The Decision:  The committee asked the North-South pair if they had any notes or 
anything else in writing to support the agreements referred to in their appeal.  North 
stated that the notes were in her room, but not with her. The committee considered the 
lack of any written notes indicating the North-South agreements, and the fact that in an 
undefined auction, the hesitation before doubling by North, suggested bidding with the 
South hand.   
 
Since pass by South was considered a clear cut Logical Alternative to the action taken, 
the committee upheld the director’s ruling of 3♠ doubled making five, +730 E/W.  This 
was per Law 16, unauthorized information from break in tempo.  The play to take eleven 
tricks is straightforward and eleven tricks was the result achieved at the table.   
 
An appeal without merit warning (AWMW) was issued to N/S. 
 
The Committee/Panel :  Gail Greenberg (Chair), Bob Schwartz, Ken Barbour, Chris 
Moll, Dick Budd. 
 
Commentary: 
 
Goldsmith If, indeed, N/S had the agreements North believed they did, it's clear that 

South didn't know them, negating North's argument.   The real issue is 
whether North can have a penalty double of 3♠.  The opponents have 
announced a 9-card fit, so about the only hand possible is 
AKQ/Axxx/xxx/xx.  That's pretty unlikely, but just barely possible, so 
passing is a LA.  Is South's action sufficiently blatant to award a PP?  Yes-
--in order to avoid one, I think she needs to think about the problem at the 
table, conclude that the double was not penalty, Alert the double, explain 
that there may be some system stuff going on that she forgot, and act.  She 
won't get to pull, but she also won't get her PP. 

 
Polisner North should have known better than to have brought this frivolous 

appeal. 
 
Rigal Well done by the director and committee to give the AWMW. This is 

pretty close to a procedural penalty, and certainly to discussion of its 
merits, though I can understand why none was given. 

 
Smith Correct by the directors, and a thorough and thoughtful job by the 

committee.  The polling results should have convinced the appellants not 
to appeal so the AWMW was correct. 



 
Wildavsky I'm surprised N/S brought this appeal. 
 
Wolff An open and shut ruling. There is no doubt that North was only trying to 

make the right bridge bid, considering that she thought 2NT was natural.  
However, the study made it obvious to South that partner did not have a 
full blown penalty double opposite a minor suit takeout.  There are 
extenuating circumstances such as West's free 3♠ bid, but nevertheless 
convention disruption (CD) should continue to pay a significant price 
since in most cases, including here, what North did ends the legitimate 
bridge at the table immediately. 

 
Zeiger I have one issue.  If the Committee considered the system notes to be 

germane, the Chair should have asked North if she was staying in one of 
the host hotels, and asked her to get them.  Since she was indeed staying at 
one of them, the Committee should not have considered the lack of notes 
as relevant.  If she was asked to get them, and declined, this should have 
been included in the write up.  If the Committee decision would have been 
the same, but the merit issue changed, with system notes, obtaining them 
would still have been important. 

  
 


